## PRESS REPORT

## CLOSING CEREMONY OF CBSE CLUSTER -II BADMINTON TOURNAMENT

Concludes With Grandeur Bhilai , September 8, 2024: The closing ceremony of the CBSE Cluster II Badminton Tournament, hosted by KPS, Nehru Nagar, Bhilai was marked by enthusiasm and celebration. The event commenced with a grand Guard of Honour, followed by warm welcome of the Chief Guest, Mr. Shrimant Jha, a celebrated Para – Arm Wrestling Champion. The ceremony was conducted in a well – organized manner, show casing the importance of sportsmanship and athletic spirit.

The event kicked off with the traditional lamp lighting and a symbolic sapling presentation, symbolizing the growth and sustainability of sports. Mrs. Sabita Tripathi, Principal , KPS, Nehru Nagar, Bhilai, delivered the welcome address, expressing her gratitude to all the participants, coaches and the organizing team for making the tournament a success.

Chief Guest, Mr. Shrimant Jha,is currently with Jindal Steels and is known for his remarkable achievements in Para – Arm Wrestling, graced the occasion. With a settler record of winning a gold medal at the Asia Para Arm Wrestling Championship in Uzbekistan, a Silver medal at the Dubai Asia Para Arm Championship, a bronze at the World Para Arm Wrestling Championship. In total he has to his credit 22 medals at the international level. His presence inspired all attendees.

During his speech Mr. Jha congratulated the participants and emphasized the value of hard work, determination and team work in achieving success in both sports and life. He encouraged the young athletes to continue striving for excellence and to never give up, despite challenges.

The highlight of the ceremony was the prize distribution, where winners of the Under-14, Under-17 and Under -19 categories were felicitated for their outstanding performances. Arohi Dutta and Aishani Das from Adamas World School, West Bengal were the winners while Preeti K. A Pan and Rishita Mondal from Hemasheela Model School Durgapur, (WB) were the runner – up in the Under -14 girls category.

The Winner amongst the boys (Under-14) category were Sashwat Shri Mishra, Shreyansh Mistry, Abhimanyu Singh and Hemanshu Ram Chandani from D.P.S. Raipur. The runners up were Md. Aariz Raza, Krishna Kumar Shukla, Shaik Zahees, Ahmed and Nilesh Patnaik from DPS, Damanjodi, Koraput, Odisha.

In the boys (Under-17) category the winners were Brahma, Ujan Biswas, Shirswadeep Seal and Moyukh Das. The runners up were Garvit Kansal, Dhawnit Verma, Naman Jimnani and Kushagra Tamrakar.

The Under(17) girls category saw another set of winners from Adamas World School, WB. They were Anwiksho Pal, Ayshi Modak and Moitreye Jana, while the runners up were Aniarijita Naskar and Ritika Das from Woodridge International School, (W.B.)

In the Under (19) boys category the winners were Rupam Majumdar, Rishi Dutta, Neelabhra Poddar, Anirban Chaktaborty again froim Adamas World School (WB).

The Under (19) girls category winners were Tanisha Darsana, Gauris Iyer and Tanisha Dareena from Sri Sankara Vidyalaya, Bhilai (C.G.). The runners up were Nidhi Lanjewar, Himadri Sah and Teesha Malkani from MGM Senior, Secondary School (C.G.). The winners were awarded for their stellar performance in the tournament. A total of 558 boys and 196 girls participated, representing 65 schools from Chhattisgarh, 26 from Odisha and 22 from West Bengal competing fiercely over the course of the event.

The closing ceremony included with the felicitation of the Chief Guest, followed by the formal declaration of the tournament's closure. The event wrapped up with the National Anthem, leaving a lasting impression on all those present. The program was meticulously anchored by Madam Swati John and Madam Sunita Tripathi.

The CBSE CLUSTER- II Badminton Championship has once again proven to be a platform for showcasing talent, dedication and sportsmanship, leaving the audience with memories of thrilling matches and outstanding achievements.